Senator Gray Tollison Joins Republican Party

Senator Gray Tollison Joins
Mississippi Republican Party


Tollison represents Senate District 9 (Lafayette, Yalobusha, Tallahatchie),
brings Republicans in Senate to 31-21 majority


JACKSON – The Mississippi Republican Party has issued a statement announcing Senator Gray Tollison has joined the Republican Party, giving Republicans a 31-21 majority in the Mississippi State Senate.

“I welcome Gray Tollison to the Republican Party and will rely on his experience next year in the Mississippi Senate,” said Lieutenant Governor-elect Tate Reeves. “I look forward to working with Gray to try to make Mississippi the best place in America to do business and to keep it the best place to raise a family. Together we will work on bold solutions to help improve the education attainment level in our state and bring in more jobs and economic development.”

Reeves added, “The election results on Tuesday and the news today that Gray Tollison will be joining the Republican Party speaks to the appeal of our conservative values and vision for moving Mississippi forward.  Gray will be a great addition to our team.”

Governor-elect Phil Bryant, who is in Washington D.C. today, said, “I have worked with Senator Tollison for four years and know he will be a strong supporter of our conservative agenda of job creation, education redesign and performance-based budgeting. I welcome Senator Tollison to the Mississippi Republican Party.”

“As a Republican, I can still hold firm to my core political beliefs of making Mississippi a better place to live by supporting education, encouraging jobs and economic development, working for efficient and effective government, and improving our criminal laws,” Senator Gray Tollison said. “I am committed to moving Mississippi up and – going forward – it will be done with the help of the Republican Party.”

“Republicans have made historic gains all across the state in this year’s elections, but our gains in Lafayette County are especially impressive,” said Mississippi Republican Party Chairman Arnie Hederman. “We are looking forward to Republican Representatives-elect Brad Mayo, Nolan Mettetal, Steve Massengill, and Senator Gray Tollison working to effectively represent Lafayette County in the legislature.”

Sign Up To Receive Updates