About Us

MSGOP Chairman Lucien Smith

Lucien Smith serves as the 12th Chairman of the Mississippi Republican Party, following his unanimous election by the State Executive Committee in October 2017. An attorney in private practice, Lucien began his legal career as a law clerk to Judge Rhesa Hawkins Barksdale of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit. Until January 2016, Lucien served as Chief of Staff to Mississippi Governor Phil Bryant, a role in which he was the governor’s chief advisor on public policy, communications, and legislative strategy, and oversaw the operation of agencies under the governor’s purview. He managed the development and passage of Governor Bryant’s first-term policy initiatives, including the landmark 2013 Education Works reform package, which dramatically expanded charter schools in Mississippi and created the Third Grade Reading Gate. These reforms earned Mississippi the 2016 Frank Newman Award for State Innovation from the Education Commission of the States. Lucien previously served as legal counsel and budget advisor to Mississippi Governor Haley Barbour. In this role, he helped lead the governor’s budget team as Mississippi dealt with the effects of the Great Recession. Additionally, he served as the governor’s lead in-house counsel in Mississippi’s successful constitutional challenge to Obamacare. A Jackson native with deep roots in Oktibbeha and Clay Counties, Lucien is a graduate of Harvard College and the University of Virginia School of Law. He and his wife, Bethany, are active members of the Cathedral Parish of Saint Andrews. They are the proud parents of a son, Liam and daughter, McEwen.

State Executive Committee

The State Executive Committee shall consist of thirteen members from each Congressional District to be chosen by the Delegates from the different Congressional Districts, each District acting separately, and shall hold office for a term of not more than four years.

District Name County
1 Shannon Bibbie DeSoto
1 Faye Dillard Pontotoc
1 Keith Heard Lowndes
1 Edward Holliday Lee
1 Ellen Jernigan DeSoto
1 Sue Morrisson Union
1 Pat Nozinich Tate
1 Kim Remak DeSoto
1 Donna Ruth Roberts Lafayette
1 Jimmy Stephens Lee
1 DuJuana Thompson Alcorn
1 Giles Ward Winston
1 Neil Whaley Marshall
2 Eric Biedenharn Warren
2 Phil Buffington Madison
2 Lydia Chassaniol Montgomery
2 Betty Coleman Washington
2 John Dean, Jr. Washington
2 Blake Ferretti Bolivar
2 Webster Franklin Tunica
2 J.R. Jones Hinds
2 John Phillip Land Bolivar
2 Nat McMullan Coahoma
2 Barbara Rooks-Jackson Hinds
2 Ken Strachan Carroll
2 Liles Williams Hinds
3 Paul Brown Adams
3 Donnie Caughman Simpson
3 Beau Cox Rankin
3 Beth Hamilton Hinds
3 Marnita Henderson Oktibbeha
3 Reneé Lambert Madison
3 Franc Lee Rankin
3 Tyler Norman Lauderdale
3 John Roberts Lincoln
3 Marcy Scoggins Madison
3 Cheryl Sparkman Kemper
3 Dana Stringer Rankin
3 Matt Sullivan Smith
4 Derek Arrington Forrest
4 Cheryl Cranford Lamar
4 Vivian Dailey Jackson
4 Mike Ezell Jackson
4 Nell Frisbie Hancock
4 Frank Genzer Harrison
4 Jeff Howell George
4 Sandra McKiernon Jackson
4 John Parker Jones
4 Kay Patterson Marion
4 Brandon Payne Harrison
4 Wayne Tisdale Harrison
4 Mike Tyson Pearl River

State Central Committee

The State Central Committee of the Party shall be composed of the members of the State Executive Committee, the National Committeeman, the National Committeewoman, the State Finance Chairman, the General Counsel, any former State Party Chairman, the Chairman of the Mississippi Young Republican Federation, the President of the Mississippi Federation of Republican Women, the President of the Mississippi Republican Elected Officials Association, the Chairman of the Mississippi Federation of College Republicans, the Treasurer, the Chairman of the Capital Foundation, the Chairman of the United Republican Fund, the Chairman of the Teen Age Republicans; and all Republicans elected to statewide office, the Mississippi Transportation Commission, the Mississippi Public Service Commission, the United States Senate, and the United States House of Representatives; as well as the Republican Speaker of the Mississippi House of Representatives.

Name Title
Tate Reeves Governor
Keri Abernathy Pres. of MS Federation of Republican Women
Sidney Allen Capital Foundation
Brent Bailey Public Service Commissioner (Central)
Henry Barbour National Committeeman
Paul Breazeale Treasurer
John Caldwell Transportation Commissioner (Northern)
Mike Chaney Insurance Commissioner
Lynn Fitch Attorney General
Fletcher Freeman MS Federation of College Republicans Chairman
Andy Gipson Commissioner of Agriculture
John Green Finance Committee Chairman
Michael Guest U.S. Congressman
Philip Gunn Speaker of the House
Arnie Hederman Former Chairman
James Herring Former Chairman
Delbert Hosemann Lt. Governor
Cindy Hyde-Smith U.S. Senator
Ellen Jernigan United Republican Fund Chairman
Trent Kelly U.S. Congressman
Tom King Transportation Commissioner (Southern)
Jeanne Luckey National Committeewoman
Dane Maxwell Public Service Commissioner (Southern)
David McRae Treasurer
Steven Palazzo U.S. Congressman
Charles Pickering Former Chairman
Billy Powell Former Chairman
Clarke Reed Former Chairman
Mike Retzer Former Chairman
Lucien Smith Chairman
Greg Snowden Republican Elected Officials Chairman
Ebbie Spivey Former Chairman
Mike Wallace General Counsel
Michael Watson Secretary of State
Shad White Auditor
Brad White Former Chairman
Roger Wicker U.S. Senator
Wirt Yerger, Jr. Chairman Emeritus

County Chairmen

County Name
Adams Paul Brown
Alcorn Charles Seago
Attalla Scott Wiggers
Benton Olivia Futral
Bolivar Pamela Maxwell
Calhoun Steve Whitten
Carroll Kate Strachan
Chickasaw Scott Murphree
Choctaw Ernest Hadley
Clarke Judy Roberts
Chandler Mitts
Clay Dwight Dyess
Coahoma Nat McMullen
Copiah Cherron Carr
Covington Robert Faler
DeSoto Shannon Bibbee
Forrest Larry DeLeon
George Jeff Howell
Greene Girard Bolton
Grenada Dolly Marascalco
Hancock Jason Chiniche
Harrison Frank Genzer
Hinds Pete Perry
Holmes Bruce Edwards
Humphreys Steven Harris
Itawamba Phillip Izard
Jackson Vivian Dailey
Jasper Sue Stringer
Jefferson Ashlee Ellis Smith
Jefferson Davis James Dumas
Jones John Parker
Kemper Cheryl Sparkman
Lafayette Meme Mullen
Lamar Cheryl Cranford
Lauderdale Chris Bullock
Lawrence Dave Nichols
Leake Billy Boyd
Lee Jimmy Stephens
Leflore Robert E. Spiller
Lincoln John Roberts
Lowndes Chrissy Heard
Madison Renee' Lambert
Marion April Cook
Marshall Bill Beaty
Monroe Connie Long
Montgomery Matthew Bennett
Neshoba David Carter
Newton Julie Davis
Noxubee Janie Gregg
Oktibbeha Marnita Henderson
Panola Sean O'Neal
Pearl River Mike Tyson
Perry Keith Evans
Pike Bobby McDaniel
Pontotoc Faye Dillard
Prentiss June Hutcheson
Quitman Clay Vance
Rankin Dana Stringer
Scott Dedra Champion
Simpson Chris Purdum
Smith Kyle Cockrell
Sunflower Gene Hill
Tallahatchie Jerrerico Chambers
Tate Pat Nozinich
Tippah Nathan Stroupe
Tishomingo Ken Dulaney
Tunica Webster Franklin
Union Sue Morrisson
Walthall Jeremy Crane
Warren Eric Beidenharn
Washington Dave Clarke
Wayne Aaron Williams
Webster Chad Winter
Wilkinson Alex Ventress
Winston Mark Forsman
Yalobusha James Person
Yazoo Hayes Dent



Marcy Scoggins — Executive Director –  marcy@msgop.org

Nicole Webb — Communications Director – nicolew@msgop.org




Sign Up To Receive Updates

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap