MSGOP Chairman Comments on Mississippi’s Republican Primary Results

JACKSON, MS – Mississippi Republican Party Chairman (MSGOP) Lucien Smith released the following statement tonight following the results of Mississippi’s primary elections:

“I commend each Republican candidate for their dedication and willingness to serve, and congratulate the winners on their hard-earned victories,” said Smith. “I am confident that our nominees have the resolve and leadership needed to advance the conservative movement and serve as a strong advocate for all Mississippians in Congress. I want to personally encourage Republicans in Mississippi’s Third Congressional District to vote in the runoff election on Tuesday, June 26. Both Michael Guest and Whit Hughes are incredibly qualified to serve.

“In 2016, unity led us to a historic victory. Uniting behind our Party’s nominees will, once again, put Republicans in a strong position for a midterm victory in November. We must be prepared to work harder than we ever have before to ensure President Trump has conservative allies in Congress who are committed to moving our country forward.”

Michael Guest and Whit Hughes will face each other in a runoff election on Tuesday, June 26, 2018. Counties in the Third Congressional District include the following: Adams, Amite, Clarke, Covington, Franklin, Hinds, Jasper, Jefferson Davis, Kemper, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lincoln, Madison, Neshoba, Newton, Noxubee, Oktibbeha, Pike, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Smith, Walthall, and Wilkinson.


Sign Up To Receive Updates

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap